Date: 11th July 2015 at 12:51pm
Written by:

As the squad prepares to head off to Germany for pre-season Graham Alexander has admitted former Man United youth player Gareth Evans isn’t coming back to Fleetwood.

Evans was offered a new contract but with Financial Fair Play rules to adhere to we’ve got to be careful not to go overboard with Alexander telling the Blackpool Gazette we can’t go beyond our means no matter who this is for.

He didn’t want to lose the midfielder, offered his new contract in May, but a failure to reported for pre-season training or make any contract with the club saw him say he’ll not be expecting him back at Highbury this season but he wishes him well.

‘I think it’s dead in the water. It went through the summer and I spoke to his agent a couple of times. It did seem to me it wasn’t going to happen.

‘That’s a shame because Gaz has been superb over the last couple of years for us and has shown great quality.

‘It’s one of those where we have a profile, a wage cap, a structure and every player is within their rights to go and look for another club. But it was a pleasure every day to work with Gaz because he is a fantastic professional.’

The 27-year-old will be as disappointed as us not to play a part in our future but, maybe I’m na├»ve in my thinking, a ‘thanks but no thanks’ from the man we brought in from Rotherham in 2013 wouldn’t have been too much to ask would it?

Alexander’s now looking at other options though with Bobby Grant looked at in a trial basis earlier in the week.

His name doesn’t appear on the squad list confirmed on the Official Website as heading to Germany so I assume he isn’t going? I don’t know if this means his trial is over or not mind….

This squad, which flies out tomorrow and will face Borussia Dortmund B and Alemannia Aachen during our stay, was announced as follows with youth and experience selected:-

Chris Maxwell
Brendan Moore
Conor McLaughlin
Tyler Forbes
Danny Andrew
Max Cartwright
Eggert Jonsson
Nathan Pond
Stevie Jordan
Amari’i Bell
Jimmy Ryan
Akil Wright
Antoni Sarcevic
Jack Sowerby
Nick Haughton
Keano Deacon
Jamille Matt
Vamara Sanogo
Jamie Proctor
Declan McManus


Join The Vital Debate